Everything I ever did know about Junior Doctors

charityhamilton


I’ve spent a lot of time as an ordained person coming in to hospital and holding the hand of the recently bereaved, praying with the sick, hearing the confession of the dying. People of faith are a quiet presence in most hospitals, whether as chaplains or visiting clergy like me, we are there in the background for those who want us.

I remember the first time I baptised a baby in a hospital and then conducted that child’s funeral days later, the junior doctor involved was called Jenny. I remember the first time I was present at the turning off of life support, the junior doctor that day was Chris. I remember the first time I accompanied someone from this life to the next, clergy are midwives of resurrection and that first time the junior doctor was so unobtrusive I never learnt their name, I’m sorry I should’ve asked.

We…

View original post 976 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

